Font Size:

A- A A+

Delaware Twp. Steady on Personnel and Taxes

Delaware Twp.  Steady on Personnel and Taxes
by Wayne Witkowski
Pike Co. Dispatch - Thursday, January 10, 2019

DINGMANS FERRY -- There were no surprises or new appointees during a brief Delaware Township Reorganization Meeting conducted by the Board of Supervisors on Monday night.

John Henderson was appointed to his second full term as Board of Supervisors chairman as he overcame an illness to effectively complete the previous term with little lost time.

Jane Neufeld also was appointed to her second year as vice chairman and township treasurer and Rick Koehler was reappointed as township Secretary.

Krista Predmore was named to her seventh year as Township Administrator as well as assistant treasurer and Right to Know officer.

Thomas Farley remains as longtime township solicitor and Planning Board solicitor. Legal colleague Robert Bernathy is the alternate for both., Stacey Beecher was appointed township Zoning Hearing Board Solicitor and as township Building Hearing Board attorney.

Reappointments came as expected as the township continues solid financial footing -- with no tax increase over the past 11 years -- and infrastructure maintenance. Resurfacing is planned this year for Doolan Road as the major road project as well as refurbishing dirt & gravel and tar & chip roads.

Vince Flatt was reappointed as township roadmaster.

"Delaware Township is very fortunate to have not only great employees but also so many people who volunteer for township neds," Neufeld said afterward. "The appointments at this Reorganizaiton Meeting reflect the board's appreciation and respect for all of those people."

The township Treasurer's Bond was set at $2.8 million and the Assistant treasurer's bond at $100,000.

The Pike County Dispatch, New Eagle and Pocono Record were reognized as the official township newspapers.

Robin Jones was recognized by the supervisors as deputy tax collector as appointed by township tax collector Mary Lou Corbett. Jones also was appointed full-time administrative/human resources assistant and as ssecretary to the township safety committee.

Appointees to the four-year terms on the zoning hearing board include Max Brinson, Larry Walsh and Alexander Robertson. 

Steve Vitale, Jim Owens and Wayne Day were named to the township building hearing board, with Sean Helferty and Mike Moffa appointed as alternates.

Chris Kimble, Bud DeVries and Kyle Wright were named to the township safety committee.

The only minor change in appointments was George Beodeker named as full township Emergency Management coordinator. Beodeker  at last year's Reorganizaiton Meeting talked aboout retiring from the post and agreed to an interim term while a successor was sought but has since reconsidered and remains the full-time coordinator, according to the supervisors.

SFM Consulting LLC was named toiwnship residential and commercial building inspector as well as zoming/code enforcement officers.

Steven McBride again was appointed to the township vacancy board.

Neufeld, Koehler and Flatt were authorized to attend the 2019 PennsyLvania State Association of Township Supervisors (PSATS) Conference in Heshey, with Neufeld as the voting delegate. Sharon Franks was named township representative to the Pike County Council of Government.

The board again set its regular meetings for the second and fourth Wednesdays of the month at 7 p.m., following the 6 p.m. workshop. The Safety Committee will meet the first Tuesday of the month at 8:30 a.m. and the Planning Commission will hold workshops and meetings on the first and third Tuesday or each month or as necessary, starting at 6:30 p.m. Zoming Hearing Board and Building Hearing Board meetings will be scheduled as needed.


Try these useful tools to make the best of your visit.

Delaware Township, Pennsylvania Map